I begin…

…with a heavy heart. A friend of mine with Asperger’s syndrome was recently referred to as an idiot by a pastor in her church. A teenager with Asperger’s syndrome that I care about deeply has been called a variety of names by members of his church’s youth group, and that’s just scratching the surface.

What is Asperger’s syndrome? Put simply, it is a developmental disorder that makes it very difficult to interact with other people. It is on the autism spectrum. Its cause has not yet been determined, and there is no known cure. Here are some of the characteristics of Asperger’s syndrome, according to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders IV:

  • marked impairment in the use of multiple nonverbal behaviors such as eye-to eye gaze, facial expression, body postures, and gestures to regulate social interaction
  • failure to develop peer relationships appropriate to developmental level
  • lack of spontaneous seeking to share enjoyment, interests, or achievements with other people (e.g., by a lack of showing, bringing, or pointing out objects of interest to other people)
  • lack of social or emotional reciprocity
  • encompassing preoccupation with one or more stereotyped and restricted patterns of interest that is abnormal either in intensity of focus
  • apparently inflexible adherence to specific, nonfunctional routines or rituals
  • stereotyped and repetitive motor mannerisms (e.g., hand or finger flapping or twisting, or complex whole-body movements)

I’m looking at the tattoo on my left arm. It references 2 Corinthians 12:9, which says, “But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”

I have Asperger’s syndrome, and my left arm is paralyzed. I pray that God will use my weaknesses to help others.

15 Comments

Filed under About Asperger's Syndrome

15 responses to “I begin…

  1. Julie

    I am so proud to be your friend, so great that you are doing this. I think you have a truly special gift, and your ability to reach, and teach others is God’s gift to all of us. I am in awe of you! I can’t wait to follow your blog. Thank you Carlyle for discussing and teaching what so many others would choose to ignore and remain ignorant. You are my hero! Your biggest fan in CA,
    Julie

  2. Nichole Mager

    I Love it Carlyle!!!! You are Awesome!!

  3. Sal

    Looks great. Tell us about the many positive traits of people with autism

  4. Brother, my brother,
    How selfish was I
    While you seemed to struggle,
    I sat idly by

    Brother, my brother
    Yes, try as I might
    I now realize
    It was also my fight

    Brother, my brother
    Now look at your arm
    It’s cold and immovable
    Lost all its charm

    Brother, my brother
    Now look at your leg
    There’s so much left missing
    Yet not once did you beg

    Brother, my brother
    Though I lost more in mass
    It is you far more haunted
    By our mistakes in the past

    Brother, dear brother
    Listen when I say
    I will stick by your side
    Until this goes away

    Brother, dear brother
    Listen when I say
    I will stick by your side
    Until our final day

    • I love you and you are my best friend in the wordl i dont know what life would be like with out you man Im a better person for knowing you I have learned so much from you your heart your sole your tear you are the best dad I have ever seen in the world man ….the list goes on and on i feal like a King just because I getb the privligr of knowing you and calling you my best friend I love you Carlyle your friend and brother Greg

      • DeAnna

        Greg, You’re fantastic. I’m a far better person for knowing both of you and your fabulous son Tyler. Life is short. I love that something so sad as people mistreating people is being turned into a positive. We all will learn something here. Carlyle, You’re my BFF and I thank you from the bottom of my heart for the honor of calling you friend. I love you and thank you for all you have taught me and helped me with. De

      • Deeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee! 🙂
        I probably wouldn’t be doing this without your friendship and encouragement.

    • You are a poet and we did not know it! 😛
      I love you, my brother. 🙂

  5. Gloria Smith

    This is so cool. I am so glad you have started a blog. I am so proud of you!! And so proud to say you are my friend and have been for 20 years. Love ya my friend. Can’t wait to read more.

  6. Kristen

    Wow, and I was afraid of being the mushy wife responding. I sit here remembering what the lady next to me said as we listened to you speak at the Council for exceptional children conference. She asked, “How proud are you?”, my response “Extremely”. I’m not even sure how to put it into words. You are changing the world and how people view Autism and I am so very proud of all that you have accomplished. YOU are making a difference. I love you, forever and always.

  7. Traci King

    Good stuff! Keep on advocating. You are strong thorugh Christ, and it is so evident in all you are doing! Lots of love coming your way. Love you much!

  8. Tim Gross

    You are helping others!

Leave a Reply

