On the bright side… (part 3)

Continued from part 2

I’m moving on to part C of Attwood and Gray’s aspie criteria, which I’ve listed below. I encourage you to read the full article,  The Discovery of “Aspie” Criteria.

C. Cognitive skills characterized by at least four of the following:

  1. strong preference for detail over gestalt
  2. original, often unique perspective in problem solving
  3. exceptional memory and/or recall of details often forgotten or disregarded by others,  for example: names, dates, schedules, routines
  4. avid perseverance in gathering and cataloguing information on a topic of interest
  5. persistence of thought
  6. encyclopaedic or “CD ROM” knowledge of one or more topics
  7. knowledge of routines and a focused desire to maintain order and accuracy
  8. clarity of values/decision making unaltered by political or financial factor

I hope those of you in human resources or in a position to make hiring decisions are taking notes, because this is why you want an aspie in your organization. Aspiritech has demonstrated these strengths in aspies on the job, as you will see in its FAQs, and it is not the first company to do so. For me personally, this is what these skills look like in my work…

I manage a learning management system for a university. I support thousands of users from around the world. I’ve told my supervisor that I may not always see the forest for the trees, but I’m very good at seeing the trees. I have a tendency to bring up details that might otherwise be missed and that could be costly if overlooked.  When problem solving, I tend to see what is missing or what doesn’t belong. I tend to remember users by their identities in the system (usernames and ID numbers), and I recognize patterns involving groups of users or courses with similar characteristics even though the connection might not be readily apparent. I have a tendency to become very focused on a problem and will pursue it until I understand it completely and can develop a permanent fix. I read technical manuals for fun, and my daily routine includes a number of system checks so that I can proactively respond to upcoming problems.

Perhaps most important of all, technical work is genuinely fun for me. I don’t get stressed over technical issues. I enjoy them like others might enjoy a good puzzle or game. I feel driven to solve them and I am greatly satisfied when I can show my colleagues how I fixed them. Who wouldn’t want to employ someone like me?

To be continued

4 Comments

Filed under About Asperger's Syndrome, Aspie strengths, Work

4 responses to “On the bright side… (part 3)

  1. Lisa Monzon

    I, on the other hand, am good with hardware and cars. I might have mentioned that I have spacial issues, so it’s easier for me to feel things with my hands and figure out what is going on than to read strings of code and things. I took two scripting classes, and I did fine, but it was very hard work and hated it. Now, rebuilding a carburetor? I can get behind that.

    • Not every aspie is cut out for computer work, but we each tend to apply these cognitive skills in what we enjoy. I’m quite certain you could rebuild my truck blindfolded. 🙂

  2. Wow that is so very cool. What company wouldn’t love these qualifications in an employee. Me I see music and think more creatively. And wish I could understand these tech things. But am so glad that I know people who do understand these things to hep me understand.

  3. Mike

    As I mentioned in my comment on part 2, you are exactly the person I want working on our issues with Angel because of the talents you possess. You are exactly the right person for the job. On the other hand, I am not. I get pulled away on rabbit trails way to easily, just becaue the rabbit trails appear interesting.
    Thank you for the work you do at the university and for the information you are getting out through your blog.

Leave a Reply

