Aspie holidays!

Several of my fellow aspie bloggers are writing about how stressful the Christmas season can be for aspies and how to reduce that stress. My friend Penni gave excellent advice in her blog, which I would recommend reading if you are or love an aspie. I’ve finally managed to arrange what I believe will be the perfect Christmas for me, so I thought I’d share how I’m going to spend it…

This year, I will actually be able to be off for most of my daughter’s Christmas break, and I don’t have anything to worry about as far as work, which takes away a lot of my stress right off the bat. After I pick her up from school on Tuesday, she and I will have a few days to cuddle up with coffee (hot cocoa for her) and some good books. We may also go for walks, watch movies, take naps, and talk about important things, like the leaves and rocks she has collected.

When Christmas gets here, we’ll have a quiet morning, and visit my wife’s family for dinner. She has done a great job of helping them understand, so I don’t have to explain anything to them, and I can pull out my laptop and noise-canceling headphones if I need a break. After Christmas, I’ll still have a week off, so I’ve arranged time for me to spend with small groups of friends.

I think this is going to be the best Christmas season ever, because this time, I get to focus on building the relationships I care about and not really worry about anything else. I wonder what it would look like if we all did that…

1 Comment

Filed under About Asperger's Syndrome, Social Interaction

One response to “Aspie holidays!

  1. Gloria Smith

    That sounds so good and Peaceful. We are going to my cousins house christmas eve for my family then having Howard’s family over that night for dinner. But no turkey just a ham and green bean casserole is all I have to do. Everyone else is bringing stuff. With the MS no way can I handle the stress of cooking a whole meal all by myself. So ya the less stressful the holidays the better. Hope yer Christmas is amazing. Love you and yet family.

Leave a Reply

